Skillet- German Village

Every time I talk to people in Columbus about breakfast joints someone always mentions Skillet and how amazing the food is. They second that with and I had to wait 30-45 minutes to even get a table though. I’m not a fan of waiting around for a table anywhere and I usually don’t get up early enough on the weekend to make it before the crowd. On this Saturday though for some reason I was up early and decided I better make use of this rare occurence by making a visit to this popular German Village eatery. Walking into Skillet is like walking into someone’s living room. No wonder people wait so long, there aren’t many tables, but sometimes I enjoy the small feel.

I’m a sucker for Biscuits and Gravy, so after a quick look at the menu and spotting it on the menu my decision was made. The Andouille Sausage Gravy and Biscuits ($9) consists of a house smoked andouille in a spicy cream gravy over a couple of buttermilk biscuits with two scrambled eggs on top. Sounds like a lot of food and trust me it was. I also noticed a lot of dishes with the crispy pan-roasted fingerling potatoes ($4), so I decided on a side of those also. 

Potatoes are potatoes and the name sounds weird, but these had some nice spice to them and were overall really good. I would recommend trying one of the dishes that include them. When the waitress put down the plate I knew I was in for a challenge with the biscuits and gravy. It was a good amount of food and I’m not one to leave anything on the plate. The gravy had a nice spice to it, but I enjoy the heat so I even added a couple splashes of the house hot sauce. The biscuits were also really good and you could tell they were fresh.

The scrambled eggs were a good touch too. I wasn’t even able to finish the whole dish it was so much food. It was really good though. Some people have asked me to compare this biscuits and gravy to the one at Knead. They are really two different flavors because Knead’s has a slight sweet taste. I am going to be a politician for a second and say that they are both really good. It is the truth though, I would eat either of them in a second. I recommend you get out and try both and let me know which you think is better.

Until next time, remember that good things do happen before 10am on a Saturday and Skillet’s biscuits and gravy are worth the couple of hours less of sleep. You’ll want a nap later after all the food anyways.

Cheers!!!

www.skilletruf.com

One response to “Skillet- German Village

  1. I see they’ve changed their menu since I was last there…..which means another visit in the near future is in order!

Leave a comment